What to do when being home sick!

by theresaobarry

It’s summer and I am in a rainy Chicago. I was supposed to help a friend today by baby sitting her daughter, but since parts of Chicago was flooded during the morning hours we cancelled. Luckily we live on the fifth floor in a 9 floor building, so we are fine!
Today’s alarm clock was the emergency system on the phone, by the way.. Stupid flooding woke us up way too early!

This week I missed my family and home country more than usual. It was midsommar (one of the biggest holidays in Sweden) last week and my Facebook and Instagram feed was full of pictures of idyllic Swedish summer nights. I don’t miss home that often, but during the two good months of the year when Sweden is amazing, I really do! I hope that, in the future, I can spend the whole month of July on the west coast of Sweden.

Another reason why this week has been especially rough was that my cousin had a daughter! They haven’t decided on a name yet, but she is beautiful! I’m not ready to have a baby of my own yet, but one day (when all of my cousins and sisters and brothers have kids) we will!

To distract myself from feeling homesick and sad, I’ve been watching old movies that Conor grew up with. I had not seen any of them, because I was watching Pippi and Emil where I grew up! So, I’ve now seen Ferris Bueller’s Day off, Adventures in Babysitting and The Great Outdoors for the first time. A funny coincidence is that they are all filmed in or near Chicago! I love to watch funny and innocent movies when I’m sad, stressed or anxious. I remember my first week of high school; I went home everyday after school and watched a Disney movie. I also like superhero movies, they always put me in a good mood. We saw Man of Steel last week, and it was much better than I expected. I wish we had a man (as hunky and strong) like Clark Kent in our neighborhood so he could help us out if disaster strikes! Can he prevent flooding?

Anyways, I also painted my nails while missing my family. I went for some good old ones! I love Essie’s metallics from last year, they are frosty and foily and goes on so smooth. Penny talk is my favorite out of all of them, mostly because it matches so well with other colors. I’ve matched it with Mint Candy apple from Essie and Cajun Shrimp by OPI before. I actually loved Cajun Shrimp so much after I borrowed it from my mother-in-law that I went out to get my own bottle. On my nails right now is penny talk and Cajun shrimp together!

Oh, another thing that everyone but me care about right now in Chicago is that the Stanley cup now belongs to the Black Hawks again! Yay!
Pictures are of my cousins beautiful baby girl and of my nails!

20130626-121027.jpg

20130626-121044.jpg

